The Specialists For Classical Music Cds | Vinyl | Sacds | Blu-Rays | Dvds

Free 1st Class PostTo the United Kingdom - Any order value

Fast International Delivery Premium durable packaging

KEMPFF, WILHELM The Schubert Recordings on Deutsche Grammophon. Deutsche Grammophon 9cds + 1Blu-Ray

Release Date:
Kempff Wilhelm The Schubert Recordings Deutsche Grammophon 9Cds 1Blu-Ray
Kempff Wilhelm The Schubert Recordings Deutsche Grammophon 9Cds 1Blu-Ray
Catalog Number:
£37.93 £31.61
In stock

Wilhelm Kempff
The Schubert Recordings on Deutsche Grammophon

  • Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 1 in E major, D157
  • Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 2 in C major, D279
  • Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 3 in E major, D459
  • Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 4 in A minor, D537
  • Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 5 in A flat major, D557
  • Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 6 in E minor, D566
  • Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 8 in E flat major, D568
  • Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 9 in B major, D575
  • Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 11 in F minor, D625
  • Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 13 in A major, D664
  • Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 14 in A minor, D784
  • Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 15 in C major, D840 'Reliquie'
  • Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 16 in A minor, D845
  • Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 17 in D major, D850
  • Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 18 in G major, D894
  • Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 19 in C minor, D958
  • Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 20 in A major, D959
  • Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 21 in B flat major, D960
  • Schubert: Moments Musicaux (6), D780, Op. 94
  • Schubert: 4 Impromptus, D899
  • Schubert: 4 Impromptus, D935
  • Schubert: Fantasie in C major, D760 'Wanderer'
  • Schubert: Klavierstücke (3), D946
  • Schubert: Andante in A major, D604
  • Schubert: Allegretto in C minor, D915
  • Schubert: Scherzo in B flat major, D593 No. 1
  • Schubert: 13 Variations on a theme by Anselm Hüttenbrenner in A minor, D576

9-CDs + Blu-ray Audio mastered at 24-bit/192kHz presenting reference recordings of one of the great Schubertians

Limited Edition slipcase with mintpacks

44 page booklet with a new essay about Wilhelm Kempff’s Schubert recordings by Gregor Wilmes; previously unreleased photos and facsimiles of original recording protocols

“When Schubert sounds his magic harp, do we not feel as though we are floating on a sea of sound, freed from everything material?” WILHELM KEMPFF

With a virtuosity that was very real, yet never drew attention to itself, Kempff’s Schubert was at its heart penetrating and inspired and the depth of his performances could convey the intimacy of a chamber ensemble or project the works as great symphonies for keyboard. It was Kempff’s perception that it was the function of a pianist’s virtuosity to serve, not to exploit; always the music had to be paramount. Like many great artists he was notably erratic, but any impulsiveness or spontaneity was always driven by artistic will and the search for new discoveries. Such was his inspiration, his recordings over his 60 year career – most of it for DG – are a treasure house of discovery; his Schubert recordings being among the finest examples, and not least remaining reference recordings of the repertoire.

“No other pianist has communicated Schubert with a greater sense of his final transcendence of earthly pain and travail . . . you are simultaneously made aware of a pianist who brought an Apollonian grace to even the fiercest Dionysian pages of Beethoven and who, arguably, found his truest voice in Schubert. Kempff's tonal sheen and translucence, his magical elixir, remain unique in the history of piano playing.” GRAMOPHONE

“Complete cycles of the Schubert sonatas are rare, but artistry like this is rarer still. Combined with a subtlety so rich and sophisticated that it’s sometimes almost distracting, is a capacity for the utmost simplicity which is a hallmark only of the very greatest artists. The sheer variety of his sound, like that of his rhythmic articulation, melodic inflection and polyphonic illumination, should be a perennial education and inspiration to nine tenths of pianists playing today.” BBC MUSIC MAGAZINE

“Huge, implacable, intense and deliberately uningratiating, these are towering performances which emphasize that Schubert’s range was no less great than Beethoven’s – and Kempff’s no less than anyone’s.

Deutsche Grammophon 9cds + 1Blu-Ray 4835609

More Information
Format Box Sets, CD
Genre Classical
Label Deutsche Grammophon
Release Period October 2018


Premium durable packaging


Pay no more than £3


CDs | Vinyl | SACDs | Blu-rays | DVDs