The Specialists For Classical Music Cds | Vinyl | Sacds | Blu-Rays | Dvds

Free 1st Class PostTo the United Kingdom - Any order value

Fast International Delivery Premium durable packaging

NOTES FROM THE ASYLUM Various composers. Clare McCaldin, Libby Burgess. Champs Hill Records

Release Date:
Notes From The Asylum Various Libby Burgess Champs Hill Records
Notes From The Asylum Various Libby Burgess Champs Hill Records
Catalog Number:
£10.72 £8.93
Only 1 left
In stock

Notes from the Asylum

  • 1 Mad Bess Purcell / Britten
  • 2 Crazy Jane Harriet Abrams

Ophelia Lieder Johannes Brahms

  • 3 I. Vie erkenn’ ich dein Treuließ
  • 4 II. Sein Leichenhemd weiß
  • 5 III. Auf morgen ist Sankt Valentins Tag
  • 6 IV. Sie trugen ihn auf der Bahre bloß
  • 7 V. Und kommt er nicht mehr zurück?

Gedichte von Eduard Mörike Hugo Wolf

  • 8 I. Agnes
  • 9 II. Lied vom Winde
  • 10 III. Seufzer
  • 11 IV. Wo find’ ich Trost
  • 12 V. Gebet

Ariel Ned Rorem

  • 13 I. Words
  • 14 II. Poppies in July
  • 15 III. The Hanging Man
  • 16 IV. Poppies in October
  • 17 V. Lady Lazarus

Vivienne Stephen McNeff

  • 18 I. Before Tom
  • 19 II. Eliot erect
  • 20 III. The Land of Lost Content
  • 21 IV. Bertie
  • 22 V. Through the Darkness I Can Hear
  • 23 VI. Belladonna

Clare McCaldin – mezzo-soprano
Libby Burgess – piano

In Notes from The Asylum mezzo-soprano Clare McCaldin explores songs about female madness.

Clare writes “Early in my research I identified two types of song that appealed to me: presentations of madness in fictional characters and in real women whose experience is recorded in poetry or private correspondence.”

She begins with Mad Bess with music by Purcell, which can lay claim to being the first Restoration ‘mad song’, realised here by Benjamin Britten and given an operatic treatment

Crazy Jane is the most sucessful composition by Harriet Abrams (c.1760–1821), a singer and reportedly a pupil of Thomas Arne.

Published posthumously in 1935, the Ophelia Lieder of Johannes Brahms were written in Vienna in November 1873 at the request of the celebrated Viennese actor Josef Lewinsky for his fiancée, the actress Olga Preicheisen, who was about to take the part of Ophelia in a production of Shakespeare’s Hamlet in Prague.

Hugo Wolf, who ended his days in an asylum, set poems by Eduard Mörike in increasing numbers in the 1880s. The five songs featured here are all sung (or, in the case of Gebet, spoken) by the Ophelia-like character of Agnes as she appears in Mörike’s 1832 novel Maler Nolten (The Artist Nolten).

Ariel, Five Poems of Sylvia Plath, for soprano, clarinet and piano, by Ned Rorem, capture, often graphically, that turbulent phase of her life soon to be ended by her suicide at the age of 30.
Vivienne by Stephen McNeff is an opera in six songs, tracing the disastrous marriage of Vivienne Haigh-Wood to T.S. Elliot. Librettist Andy Rashleigh has given a voice to Vivienne, forcibly silenced by a barbaric regime of drugs and who died in an asylum, using Eliot’s poetry as a jumping-off point to create a powerful identity for Vivienne.

Champs Hill Records CHRCD111

More Information
Format CD
Genre Classical
Label Champs Hill Records
Release Period May 2016


Premium durable packaging


Pay no more than £3


CDs | Vinyl | SACDs | Blu-rays | DVDs